Day 105: Col d’Echelle

Started to feel really ill today. My ribs are hurting like mad, and I have a bad cold and haven’t been able to sleep well, which is making me very lethargic and not wanting to do anything. In particular, I really didn’t want to risk exacerbating my aching ribs by going ski de fond, so while les grumblies headed off for a ski down the valley I stayed at home.

I did want to do something though and quite late in the afternoon I decided to go for a walk along the piste up the Col d’Echelle. It was quite a nice walk up. There were very few people around, although I looked a bit jealously on as some skiiers whizzed past me. I’d like to ski up here soon – it’s a nice piste, especially at the top.

I walked all the way up beyond the altitude marker today and then back. On the way down I noticed some snow-shoe paths thorugh the forrest, cutting off loops in the road. I foolishly tried to walk along them in my boots and sunk in to my waist.

on a the whole a lovely walk and good to get out of the house.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

